Stand Still Workout

July 11, 2011 at 5:05 pm Leave a comment

This weekend was hot, hot, hot! And I really hate saying that because I don’t want to be one of those people who says, “hot enough for you?” in the summertime. But I am. So I guess I’ll have to deal with it.

On Saturday night, my brother and I went to see a Courtyard Hounds concert. Love, love, love. I’ve seen them live before as The Dixie Chicks (for those not in the know, the Courtyard Hounds make up 2/3 of The Dixie Chicks trio) but I loved seeing them in a smaller venue … such a different vibe and much more interaction with the audience.

The show was so great … and so HOT. The venue didn’t have any air conditioning (or it was off or it was broken) and it was crazy hot in there … for me. I can’t even imagine what it was like to be onstage trying to entertain in that heat.

Which leads me to the question … is it possible to work out while you’re standing still? Ok, so I didn’t exactly stand still all night – it was a concert after all, so there was some minor dancing involved, but I could swear to you that I lost about 2 lbs just in sweat (lovely image, that) on Saturday. Possible?

It was so much fun to hang out with Shaun (yep, little bro has a name) that night. It was our first concert together! I totally introduced him to the Courtyard Hounds when their CD came out (I’ll cop to being mildly obsessed with The Dixie Chicks so I practically ran out to get it on release day) and he’s loved them ever since. Just like moi. They have a very different vibe from the Chicks, but I really like it … and I really liked the new songs they performed as well.

I can’t wait until their next album comes out … and the next time I get to see them live, I’ll be sure to bring a camera instead of just a cell phone!

Entry filed under: Lunch.

I’m Back! We Interrupt this Program …

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Archives


