Pasta Belly

February 23, 2011 at 4:00 pm 4 comments

This weekend I was craving carbs like whoa … specifically, I was craving pasta. When I started losing weight I all but gave up pasta except for the very rare indulgence. For me, there are just some things that aren’t meant to be healthy and pasta is one of them. Pasta is meant to be smothered in cheese or cream sauce or, occasionally, tomato sauce. It’s not meant to be low-fat or heart-healthy. Call me crazy, but this is what I believe. It’s like trying to make a low-fat cheesecake. Sure it can be done, but why? With certain things, I think, it’s better to just reserve the real thing for special occasions.

This weekend was one of those special occasions. Why? Because. It was cold out. And also it was a long weekend. And let’s not forget the fact that I was out running. Twice. For about forty minutes each time. And I was house sitting. Those things deserve rewards, don’t they?

First up, I made Pasta ai Quattro Formaggi a la Pioneer Woman. This stuff was no. joke.

I stopped by Whole Foods on Friday to pick up some random cheeses in anticipation of this dish. If I was smarter, I would have written down the kinds of cheeses I bought, but as it were all I can tell you is that one was goat cheese and one was some kind of Swiss cheese. The other two … well … they were orange.

This dish took so little time to prepare which is something that makes me incredibly happy when I’m hungry.

What I ended up with was a deliciously rich pasta. I may or may not have had two huge helpings of this stuff.

Craving satisfied? Welllll … sorta. The pasta was amazing, but you know what? There were TWO days of house sitting that happened this weekend and TWO runs (let’s not forget, forty minutes each).

My dad’s dog was mildly amused by the crazy lady taking pictures of her food.

Now it’s time for my confession of the day: now and then I get an irresistible urge to go to culinary school and to make a career of food. Every now and then I share this urge with my mom who gives me a completely disapproving look. Don’t get me wrong, nobody in the world loves me more than my mom or believes in me more … which is precisely why she disapproves of me going to culinary school. She worries that I will come home missing body parts.

She may have a point. This is what happens when I’m left alone with sharp objects.

Phew, it feels good to get that off my chest. Again.

Next up was Angela’s 15-Minute Creamy Avocado Pasta. I’ve never tried a recipe from Angela that I didn’t like so I knew this would be a hit. Can you believe that this was my first time zesting a lemon for any reason?

(Ahem, the above accident may or may not have happened when trying to open my new lemon zester. Scissors are the enemy.)

This pasta was  a different experience from the cheesy pasta above – it was light and refreshing. The only thing I’d do differently? Angela mentions that you can use 2-3 cloves of garlic … I used 2, next time I’d use 3. Garlic is the awesomesauce.

My craving for pasta has been properly satisfied. For now.

What’s your favourite way to prepare pasta?

Entry filed under: Lunch.

Unhealthy Habits: Part One I’m Back!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  February 23, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    Pasta is my ultimate comfort food. Life without it, for me, would not be worth living. *sigh*

    That being said, I’m actually a bit of a traditionalist. To me, there’s nothing like a big bowl of tomato sauce drenched over the pasta. I tend now to bulk it up by adding a ton of sauteed veggies and then adding some shredded cheese on top (goat cheese = love).

    I need to observe how you handle your sharp objects, how on earth do you cut yourself like that?!

    Reply
    • 2. startwithanibble  |  February 23, 2011 at 5:30 pm

      I did that one with scissors actually … I somehow managed to stab myself under my nail bed. Gross.

      It’s either cutting or burning – it’s just not safe in my kitchen.

      Reply
  • 3. Jamie Walker  |  March 1, 2011 at 12:25 am

    I have a love hate relationship with pasta. Sometimes I think I’d rather just lick the sauce than eat the pasta which I know sounds extremely weird, but I’m just not that into it. Sometimes it just takes away from the flavor for me. Maybe I’m a sauce addict?

    Reply
    • 4. amanda  |  March 9, 2011 at 9:20 pm

      Ha – maybe! I love a good pasta sauce too. The noodles are really just empty calories sometimes – a means by which to get the sauce from the plate to our bellies, yes?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Archives


