How Do You Macaron?

February 16, 2011 at 3:27 pm 3 comments

I’ve been a yo-yo dieter my entire adult life. In my ideal world, I would be able to eat whatever I wanted and still lose weight, but in reality I’ve tried every kind of deprivation known to man to lose weight. I don’t want to get into specific diets because for the most part I don’t recommend any of the ones I have tried, save one, but it suffices to say that I never intend on eating cabbage soup or drinking grapefruit juice again.

When I first started this blog, I thought it would be a way to force myself into making healthy recipes and eating proper portions. I thought it would be a site that would show my dedication to healthy eating and exercising. If I’m honest, that’s not honest. I am dedicated to healthy eating and working out – but I’m not there yet. I’m not the girl with the perfectly balanced meals who runs several miles several times a week … and why would I want to be? Those girls (women) already exist, and as much as I try to tell myself several times a day that that’s who I am, it’s not. Maybe someday – but for now I’m still a girl who stumbles, who tries to eat healthy but eats dessert way too often, loves cheese a little too much, and finds way too many excuses not to work out.

My overeating doesn’t happen in a slightly larger than normal piece of cake – it happens in days of eating pasta and cake in a row, followed by days of never wanting to look at another carb as long as I live. I know this kind of lifestyle isn’t the greatest – but it’s mine and until I can change it, I’m going to own it. As I train for my first half marathon, and then my first marathon, I’m going to do my best to do better with my nutrition … but until then I’m sure I’ll still stumble. I know I’m not alone in this, and I feel that it’s better for me to be honest about that so that people who struggle with the same things that I do know they’re not alone.

And speaking of stumbling, please allow me to introduce you to my newest stumbling block:

The macaron.

In case you’re wondering, yes I did eat all of these. Just not all at once. I just discovered French macarons a few weeks ago, and fell instantly in love. So in love, in fact, that I made it a mission to find the best macarons in Toronto. So far I’ve only tried two places, and the ones above, bought at Pusateri’s and made by Sweet Definition, are my favourites. I was particularly in love with the raspberry and café au lait varieties. So beautiful.

A French macaron is not something I can describe, it’s just something you have to try for yourself. Trust me. I also tried macarons from Moroco which were quite good but a little too sweet for my taste – although I was a huge fan of their chocolate ones as well as the vanilla – with specks of real vanilla bean in them. I’ll have to go back and try out the rest of the flavours someday.

One at a time. Of course.

Yesterday marked my first official running day of half marathon training! I actually started on Monday with cross-training but yesterday was my first run. I only took up running in the spring of last year, completing three official 5Ks and an unofficial 10K … this year I have an incredibly busy racing season planned, starting with an 8K for Harry Rosen and ending with the Chicago Marathon. Somewhere in between I’ll be racing a 5K, a 10K, a half marathon and a 30K … and just because that isn’t crazy enough, I’ll also be participating in the Weekend to End Women’s Cancers.

I get tired just thinking about it! But I can’t even express how much I’m looking forward to all of this.

In the meantime, I’ll try to stay away from the macarons.

I said try. Not necessarily succeed.

What advice would you give to a first-time marathoner?

Entry filed under: Running, Snacks.

Hello, Cupcake! Unhealthy Habits: Part One

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  February 16, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    Mmm!!! Macarons! I’m sort of afraid to learn how to make them as I think I may never leave the house if I do.

    I’m so excited for you this year! It’s going to be an amazing one, I can’t offer you marathon support but I can half-marathon support which I think can roll over into marathon support. Train smart, eat for fuel and race the way you train!

    Reply
  • 2. Hayley  |  February 16, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    Wherever you are at is exactly where you should be. There should never be any pressure to be like anyone else. The little steps towards good health are the most sustainable ones, anyway…no sense in making huge unrealistic unachievable goals!
    It sounds like you are doing incredible things for your health anyway, with all those races. I don’t have any advice because I’ve never done a race that was longer than 10k! So maybe I should be asking you for advice 🙂
    Good luck with the training!

    Reply
  • 3. Stacie @ Imperfectly Healthys  |  February 23, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    I just found your blog today! I feel very similar in that I want to be doing all the right things, but I definitely don’t. I enjoy sweets way too much and eat something sweet pretty much every day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Archives


