Getting It Going

November 30, 2010 at 2:53 pm 2 comments

You didn’t think I had forgotten about you, did you? Actually I’ve been pretty busy with blog-related things, even though I haven’t posted for a while. I decided I should take my own advice, so I stopped along the way to do a little planning.

You see, the reason I named my blog “Start with a Nibble” is not just because it’s a cutsie name for a food blog, but because it’s how I’d like to encourage people to start thinking about healthy living. I have found that, as I’m sure so many people can relate to, my unhealthy cycle starts when I try to do everything all at once. For instance, when I was going through my diet-a-month phase I would alternately try to cut out all carbs from my life, then I would subsist on vegetables alone, then it was giving up soda and coffee altogether. It was one fad diet after another but the one thing that they all had in common was zero margin for error: it was all or nothing. I no longer live this way. I’m not perfect by any means, but I no longer believe in diets: what I do believe in is making small changes each day to live a healthier life. It’s about doing a bit better than you did the day before. It’s about making changes that are small enough so you can maintain them, but big enough to make a difference.

Rather than doing everything all at once, it’s ok to just start with a little nibble!

I’ve spent some time thinking about exactly what I want my blog to be about … and the one thing I came up with right from the beginning is that I don’t want it to be like everyone else’s blogs. I’m sure any blogger will tell you the same thing. I also don’t want to meal-by-meal posts of everything I eat because frankly, some of my foods are pretty boring. You really don’t need to know that I have the same breakfast five days of the week, do you?

So what I’ve come up with is that I want this to be an honest blog of my daily adventures in trying to lead a healthier life. I’m going to be making some changes around here! Firstly, I’ve decided that the layout of this blog isn’t exactly “me”. It kinda looks prim and proper don’t you think? That’s not me. I’m ridiculously sarcastic, sometimes messy and I always think in bright colours. Martha Stewart, I’m not. You’ll be seeing some changes on this site so that, hopefully, it will match my personality a bit more and will reflect what I want my blog to say: healthy eats are awesome, but sometimes you gotta have a little sugar … making mistakes is fun and very necessary in life … you win some, you lose some (hopefully you just win a bit more) … and most importantly NOTHING makes cooking more fun than if you do it with a bit of humour.

What have I been up to lately, you ask? Well, I’m so glad you did! I’ve had some adventures in cooking. I’ve had my first adventures in vegan baking, pepper roasting, tofu cooking and potato chip making. I’ve given myself a few burns and cuts but thankfully the food hasn’t suffered. I’ve read food blogs like a mad woman because, really, how else would I learn? And last but certainly not least, I’ve been eating.

(… and taking pictures of hot food on snow-dusted benches …)

The above picture is my attempt at replicating the Hard Rock Cafe‘s Twisted Mac and Cheese. YUM! I couldn’t tell you if it was perfect, but it was pretty darn good. I may have to bring a bowl to the restaurant and do a side-by-side comparison … what do you think? 😉 Recipe to come soon – I promise.

I just really wanted to let you know that I haven’t forgotten you – I’ve been a busy girl preparing to make Start with a Nibble an amazing blog that reflects exactly what I want it to reflect. Plus, seriously, what better time to get a food blog rockin’ then just before the holidays?

Entry filed under: General.

Do As I Say, Not As I Do Happy Holidays!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  November 30, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    No need to apologize, I’m STILL going through that growing phase and you’ll probably continue to do so for quite a while but you’ll find your groove! I’m just finding it so hard to take decent photos with the days being dark so early and I don’t have a good photo editing program (and sometimes that doesn’t help either!).

    Can’t wait to see what you do to the place, though!

    Reply
  • 2. Hayley  |  November 30, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    It takes a while to get into a groove with blogging and make it so that it authentically reflects who YOU are. I am just starting fresh with mine, and I know it will take a while before I am completely satisfied with it. But that’s okay! It’s a process. Just like everything else in life.
    I love your healthy living philosophy. Small changes definitely add up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Archives


