Do As I Say, Not As I Do

November 8, 2010 at 4:10 pm 2 comments

I shared a deep, dark secret with a friend of mine this weekend and I think it is time that I shared it on my blog as well.

I am a mess in the kitchen.

There, I said it. I don’t mean that my food is a mess because despite everything, it always seems to come out alright. I mean me – I’m the mess. I cannot bake or cook or even prepare veggies without somehow injuring myself. My family takes this for granted now – they both expect it and accept it when I injure myself in the kitchen. I’m almost positive that if my mom had her way, I would not be allowed to use anything that is sharp or hot. Or heavy. Or liquid. But since the food turns out well, I still do get requests to cook (always with a first aid kit on standby).

Phew, it feels good to get that off my chest.

Now for the food! I have become obsessed with these apple chips that they sell at the grocery store near my work. Ob. Ses. Sed. They are delicious bits of dried, crunchy apples that are a bit sweet, a bit salty, and entirely delicious. They are also four dollars a bag, and you don’t get all that many apples. I decided this weekend that I would try to make them at home. I was so excited to see so many delicious apples at my local farmer’s market (the last one until spring – so, so sad!) and I decided that I’d try a couple of different kinds. I tried an ambrosia apple and a honey crisp apple. There were some pears sitting next to them and I thought, “why not?” — pear chips? Yes please!

I also may or may not have had a couple of apple fritters with maple syrup before I left the market.

It is very important to core and slice the apples (and pears!) thinly. I used a mandolin, but if you’re a rockstar with a knife (which I am not) feel free to use your talents! It is also very important not to slice your thumb open with your new apple corer (don’t ask). Remember – do as I say, not as I do. If the slices aren’t the same width, it will be difficult to get your cooking times right.

You basically want to dehydrate the fruit, and then cook it slightly more so that they are crunchy instead of chewy. The pears took quite a bit longer then the apples to cook, but they were ah-mazing and so worth the wait.

Toss your fruit in 2 tbsp lemon juice so that it will not brown too much. At least this is what all the recipes I read over before attempting this said … I thought mine browned anyhow, so if you’re not opposed to eating golden-brown fruit, you could probably skip that step altogether. I also tossed in a little sugar (1 1/2 tbsp) and two teaspoons pumpkin pie spice.

Lay the fruit out on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Very important, otherwise they will stick to the baking sheet as I learned the hard way. Even if they do stick, however, they will taste amazing. They just won’t look as pretty.

Sprinkle with a bit of cinnamon, and pop them in the oven at the very low temp of 225*F until dehydrated and slightly browned – mine took about two hours.

It is also very important, if you will be taking some pictures of your fruit chips, that you not start these too late in the day, otherwise the sun will go down and you will miss your opportunity for natural lighting.

Of course, if that fails, you could always stick some in a reusable container and bring them to work with you the following morning. That works too – trust me 🙂

I’ll be honest with you – these aren’t quite as good as my store-bought chips. They’re lacking the salty flavour, which should come as no surprise since I didn’t actually add salt to the recipe (will do for next time!), but they were REALLY good, and at less than a dollar per piece of fruit they made a lot more for a lot cheaper. I also think it could be fun to experiment with more savoury spices and different fruits. I will definitely be making these again!

Entry filed under: Snacks.

Early to Rise, Late to Work Getting It Going

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  November 8, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Mmm!!! Apple chips! I have the last of my batch ready to be eated for lunch today! I never thought to bake them after dehydrating them! I’ll have to try that!

    Reply
  • 2. Dani @ Body By Nature  |  November 8, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    YUM, I must make these!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Archives


