Early to Rise, Late to Work

November 4, 2010 at 2:14 pm 3 comments

I don’t know how this happens, but it seems as though the earlier I wake up, the later I get to work. This morning I woke up at 5:30 instead of my usual 5:45, so you would think that I had 15 extra minutes to play with, right? I think it’s psychological – when I wake up early I think I have more time than I actually do. Fifteen minutes isn’t that long after all, right? However, I ended up rushing into work late at 9:09 … nine minutes late even though I woke up fifteen minutes early.

It’s starting to get cold here in Toronto. The trees are quickly turning bare and I have seen frost on the ground several mornings in a row now. I’m ok with it. I actually really like winter. What the cold weather means, however, is that I want hot breakfasts every morning. This morning what I would really have loved was a nice steaming bowl of oatmeal with almond milk, bananas, cinnamon and maple syrup (and, since I woke up fifteen minutes early I should have had time to make it!).

What I had instead was this:

Which I have to say was also pretty darn good. This lovely (but c-c-cold!) breakfast contained: 1/3 cup raw oatmeal, 1/3 cup almond milk, 1/3 cup Greek yogurt, 1/2 banana, 1 tsp raspberry jam and 1 tsp unsalted unsweetened peanut butter.

I love raw oatmeal. Truly. I rarely cook it anymore, and I rarely feel the desire to, except on cold mornings like this.

What’s your favourite way to eat oatmeal?

Entry filed under: Breakfast.

For the Love of Food Do As I Say, Not As I Do

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jillian  |  November 4, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Looks yummy! Unfortunately, my favorite way to eat oatmeal is the Southern way…cooked, then with butter and sugar or maple syrup added in. 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Therese  |  November 4, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    YUM! You already know I’m a fan of raw oatmeal. Actually, I’m a fan of oatmeal in ALL it’s forms!

    Reply
  • 3. Jos  |  December 13, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    I’m also a fan of oats w/ almond milk (homemade) – cooked..I love warm oats 😀

    Toppings can be: nuts, bananas, pb, yogurt and some fruits

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Archives


