For the Love of Food

November 2, 2010 at 2:17 pm 1 comment

I used to eat so much processed food that I wonder how my body handled it all. I also wonder why I didn’t know better. I used to think that eating processed foods was great … I thought it was cheaper, easier and – let’s face it – I thought it tasted better.

I’m pretty sure I used to make fun of people who would pass up a happy meal for a salad, or who would pass up a chocolate bar for a piece of fruit.

What it boiled down to was a misunderstanding on my part. I believed that “eating a salad” meant that I had to buy one instead of make one. I believed that eating chocolate meant that I had to buy a chocolate bar in the checkout line instead of savouring a piece of exquisitely made chocolate from a chocolatier. I truly believed that I could not wake up in the morning without a coffee.

A year ago, I decided to change the way I looked at food. I decided that I could do better.

Along the way I have learned that there are better things to eat out there. Cuisines that I had never even tried before, moreover that I never had any intention of trying, are now among my favourites.

I have learned that to buy a salad usually costs more than to buy a slice of pizza. I have also learned that if you are willing to make it yourself, not only is it less expensive, but you can make it the way you want to eat it. I have learned that spices add more flavour to a meal than salt or sugar ever will.

 I am often struck by how easy it is to make a healthy meal, and by how little time it actually takes. I am even more surprised by how often I still reach for processed foods, and by how difficult the process of giving them up has turned out to be.

I am gaining a greater appreciation for food. My favourite snacks have become fruits and vegetables, roasted chickpeas and oatmeal.

Have you tried cutting back on your processed foods? What new favourites have you discovered?

Entry filed under: General.

I Squashed Halloween Early to Rise, Late to Work

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  November 2, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    LOVE this blog! I used to eat processed food like it was going out of style but now I find them completely tasteless or much too salty. Learning how to cook and being adventurous with food as made eating healthier a LOT more fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Archives


