I Squashed Halloween

November 1, 2010 at 2:40 pm 2 comments

Halloween is one of my favourite days of the year. Nothing makes me happier than seeing kids having fun and grown ups acting like kids.

There are some stores that sell Hallowe’en costumes all year long and it’s important to get the costume right. This year, my Hallowe’en started off with my very first blogger brunch! Yes, you read that correctly – I had my first food blogger meet up before I was officially even a food blogger. Morgan set up this lovely get-together at Pulp Kitchen,  a lovely veggie/vegan resto on Queen Street East. I was so excited to try this place out because I’ve heard about it for a while. I had the “wrap of the day” which included hummus, roasted peppers and eggplant, sprouts and came with a big salad – it was really, really good. Of course, I think anything with hummus on it is good 🙂

It was great to meet some bloggers and while I was pretty quiet throughout brunch I was soaking it all up and learning a lot about the blogging world. The most important element of blogging?

Actually doing it!

I had been saving this beauty up but I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it – I wanted to make stuffed acorn squash! I read a ton of recipes, most of which included brown sugar and roasting … and as much as I love a sweet squash, I wanted to switch it up a bit.

I ended up making two kinds of stuffing – one sweet and one savory.

Sweet Stuffed Squash: 1/4 apple – peeled and chopped, 1/2 slice toasted bread, 3/4 tsp brown sugar, sprinkle of cinnamon

Savory Stuffed Squash: 1/4 cup rinsed beans (I used canned bean mix), 1/2 slice toasted bread, 1/4 tsp curry powder

Bake both halves at 350*F for 45 minutes. Brush sides of squash with melted butter and drizzle about 1/2 tsp over stuffing in each half, and bake for 15 minutes more.

This was a really great meal (entrée and dessert – all from one squash!) and it was the easiest thing in the world to prepare. I adore fall vegetables and can’t wait to bake some more.

What is your favourite fall vegetable?

Entry filed under: Holidays.

Beautiful Leaves For the Love of Food

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Therese  |  November 1, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Hey! A blog entry! WOOT!

    I LOVE SQUASH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And apples, and pears and squash, and oh yeah, I LOVE SQUASH!

    Those stuffing recipes sound amazing! I’ll have to try ’em out soon!

    Reply
  • 2. Dani @ Body By Nature  |  November 1, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    Hi hon, so nice meeting you yesterday!

    I was quiet too, there was a lot to take in 🙂 When I first started blogging I thought it was just going to be a fun little hobby but after yesterday’s conversation I feel like there is so much more to consider!

    Enjoy writing and I’m going to enjoy reading 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Archives


